top of page
  • belowam20

How digital environments helped me with math clases

All throughout my school years I have struggled in the subject of math. But my sixth grade year was the absolute worst I think. In the beginning of the year I was struggling with not knowing how to do math in my head and just not understanding how all of the equations worked. No matter how many times she would show me how to do a problem, I would never be able to grasp the idea of how to do it. It also did not help that the speed that she taught in was way to fast for me to keep up with. So in this case, I failed for half of the year. Luckily, half way through the year the teacher retired and a new one came in to teach. This teacher was new to teaching math, which made it a lot easier for me to comprehend what was going on simply because she was also learning. She used a lot of wording and made the important words bolded so I knew which ones I had to learn and study. I would stay after school to get some extra help with the math and she would show me videos that would highlight the important numbers and the part of the equation that was being solved. This had really helped me out considering I did not know which order to do equations in and it allowed me to follow step by step. https://youtu.be/LDIiYKYvvdA

This teacher helped me out so much that I passed the class by the end of the year. I was so happy that I passed and I honestly could not have done that without her. In a lot of classes that I have been struggling in, I've used multiple multimodal and or digital texts to help me get through the classes. I continuously look at the powerpoints my teachers make and I copy my notes on paper the same way it is on the powerpoint. I use different colors for different things in my notes. I use one color for the title of the chapters and the title of the slides. I use one color for all of the important information or definitions. Then lastly, I have a different color for the not as important information. This is usually how the powerpoints look as well so it helps me out a lot to see different colored and bold words to see what is important and what is not. I used to write in one color in sixth grade and most of the time I could not really understand some of the things I had written about. Outside of school though, I have no idea how I use these digital texts. This is only because the way I use it is not very productive. It is just a bunch of social media that I sometimes hate and do not understand. Outside of the idea that I have no idea how this helps me outside of school, it does help me process things a lot easier in school like I had mentioned earlier in this writing. It helps me see the most important information first before seeing anything else. There are sometimes where I think about why and how I am wired like this when everyone else I'm around gets it so much easier. Like in sixth grade, everyone would talk about how easy the math is and I would be sitting there trying to figure out how everyone is doing the math in their heads. I still use all powerpoints and write my notes like that till this day. I am proud to say that it has proved to help me pass my classes every year in college so far.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page